Older residents of Clifton Park remember it as Klingbeil’s store, others may remember it as the Emporium. Historic Grooms Tavern has been a witness to much of our Town’s history. From Clifton Park’s first Town Board meeting on April 1, 1828 and beyond, much history happened here and is even recorded on its walls!
The Groom’s Tavern, wagon and blacksmith shops not only represent the commercial history of the town, but also have direct ties to transportation systems that were so critical to the development of Clifton Park.
After being abandoned for over a decade, the Town of Clifton Park, New York purchased Historic Grooms Tavern in 1999. The building was restored through the assistance of Community volunteers, Town staff, & New York State grants and was re-opened as a historical and cultural center on Saturday April 14, 2007. Currently, visitors can attend historical programs, lectures, acoustic concerts, youth programs and a multitude of other activities in this beautiful historical site.